Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "The Inventor S Secret"


• Author :_Andrea Cremer
• Pages :_416 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_014751438X
• ISBN-13 :_9780147514387

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Includes excerpts of "The Conjurer's Riddle" and "Nightshade." [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'



• Author :_Suzanne Slade
• Pages :_48 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1607347636
• ISBN-13 :_9781607347637

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Both Thomas Edison and Henry Ford started off as insatiably curious tinkerers. That curiosity led them to become inventors—with very different results. As Edison invented hit after commercial hit, gaining fame and fortune, Henry struggled to make a single invention (an affordable car) work. Witnessing Thomas's glorious career from afar, a frustrated Henry wondered about the secret to his success. This little-known story is a fresh, kid-friendly way to show how Thomas Edison and Henry Ford grew up to be the most famous inventors in the world—and best friends, too. From the Hardcover edition. [...] by Publisher : 'Charlesbridge Publishing'



• Author :_Chad Morris
• Pages :_344 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781609078751
• ISBN-13 :_1609078756

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Abby and Derick have been accepted to the most prestigious secondary school in the world—Cragbridge Hall. Due to the inventions of their grandfather, Oscar Cragbridge, they will be able to experience history in 3D, use their minds to literally project visual interpretations of classic literature, and become animal avatars for zoology.But when their grandfather and parents go missing, Abby and Derick must follow clues Oscar left for them that will reveal a dangerous secret. Along the way, they discover there is much more to one of their grandfather's inventions than anyone has ever dreamed. Saving their family will take all of Derick's mind and Abby's heart as they come face to face with a crazed scientist who desperately seeks to change the past. If they fail, the world—past and future—will never be the same.This book is a page-turning, time-travel adventure that teaches powerful lessons about choice and consequence, believing you can do hard things, and valuing your history. [...] by Publisher : 'Shadow Mountain'



• Author :_Chris Oxlade
• Pages :_32 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1408124394
• ISBN-13 :_9781408124390

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A Scientist's Secret Scrapbook contains information about famous inventions and the science behind them. Packed with facts about how stuff works, this book provides a fresh and exciting insight into science and technology. White Wolves Non-fiction is a guided reading scheme which takes a high-interest approach to core geography, history and science topics. These books are ideal for classroom and topic libraries, and for teaching non-fiction literacy skills in a curriculum context. [...] by Publisher : 'A&C Black'



• Author :_David Lindsay
• Pages :_196 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781585746255
• ISBN-13 :_1585746258

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Recounts the origins of articles found in each room of a house, from the bathroom to the garage, and describes the personalities responsible for twenty-one everyday objects. [...] by Publisher : 'Lyons Press'



• Author :_Trina Robbins
• Pages :_32 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780736896412
• ISBN-13 :_0736896414

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In graphic novel format, describes how a glamorous American movie star invented a communication system which would later become the basis for wireless technology. [...] by Publisher : 'Capstone'

Tuxedo Park

2013-10-15 | History


• Author :_Jennet Conant
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1476767297
• ISBN-13 :_9781476767291

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The untold story of an eccentric Wall Street tycoon and the circle of scientific geniuses he assembled before World War II to develop the science for radar and the atomic bomb. Together they changed the course of history. Legendary financier, philanthropist, and society figure Alfred Lee Loomis gathered the most visionary scientific minds of the twentieth century—Albert Einstein, Werner Heisenberg, Niels Bohr, Enrico Fermi, and others—at his state-of-the-art laboratory in Tuxedo Park, New York, in the late 1930s. He established a top-secret defense laboratory at MIT and personally bankrolled pioneering research into new, high-powered radar detection systems that helped defeat the German Air Force and U-boats. With Ernest Lawrence, the Nobel Prize–winning physicist, he pushed Franklin Delano Roosevelt to fund research in nuclear fission, which led to the development of the atomic bomb. Jennet Conant, the granddaughter of James Bryant Conant, one of the leading scientific advisers of World War II, enjoyed unprecedented access to Loomis’ papers, as well as to people intimately involved in his life and work. She pierces through Loomis’ obsessive secrecy and illuminates his role in assuring the Allied victory. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_Brian Selznick
• Pages :_534 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1407166573
• ISBN-13 :_9781407166575

DownloadRead Now



• Description : ORPHAN, CLOCK KEEPER, AND THIEF, twelve-year-old Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric girl and her grandfather, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery. [...] by Publisher : 'Scholastic'



• Author :_Maurice Kanbar
• Pages :_192 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781571780997
• ISBN-13 :_1571780998

DownloadRead Now



• Description : When the fuzz from his sweater was pulled off by a brick wall he was leaning against, Maurice Kanbar had a brainstorm. Soon he had patented, produced and successfully promoted the D-Fuzz-It sweater comb, and made his first fortune at the age of twenty-two. In this engaging “master class” Kanbar’s real world hits and misses illustrate the concrete steps every inventor must follow to successfully take his product to market. [...] by Publisher : 'Council Oak Books'



• Author :_Andrea Cremer
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_069817254X
• ISBN-13 :_9780698172548

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The Revolution is beginning–and Charlotte may be on the wrong side. In this sequel to The Inventor's Secret, Charlotte and her companions escape the British Empire, but they haven't left danger behind. In fact, if they go against the revolutionaries, they face even greater peril. Charlotte leads her group of exiles west, plunging into a wild world of shady merchants and surly rivermen on the way to New Orleans. But as Charlotte learns more about the revolution she has championed, she wonders if she's on the right side after all. Charlotte and her friends get to know the mystical New Orleans bayou and deep into the shadowy tunnels below the city–the den of criminals, assassins and pirates–Charlotte must decide if the revolution's goals justify their means, or if some things, like the lives of her friends, are too sacred to sacrifice. This alternate-history adventure series asks the questions: What would have happened if America had lost the Revolutionary War? And what would people be willing to do to finally taste freedom? Praise for The Conjurer's Riddle: "This is classic steampunk [with] exotic and picturesque locales, lots of interesting machinery, and the adrenaline rush of following the adventures of an honest and fearless heroine. A suitably swashbuckling sequel."--Kirkus Reviews "This invigorating series neatly fits into the sagacategory, with loads of adventure, lots of explosions, plenty of pirates, and still some pages left forromance. The dramatic ending sweeps readers right toward the next book."--Booklist "Fans will enjoy seeing Charlotte take on a more serious role as she faces multiple factions while forging her own path."--VOYA Praise for The Inventor's Secret: * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews From the Hardcover edition. [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'



• Author :_Eleanor Davis
• Pages :_160 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1599908956
• ISBN-13 :_9781599908953

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Super-smart Julian Calendar thinks starting junior high at a new school will mean he can shed his nerdy image-but then he meets Ben and Greta, two secret scientists like himself! The three form a secret club, complete with a high-tech lair. There, they can work to their hearts content on projects like the Stink-O-Meter, the Kablovsky Copter, and the Nightsneak Goggles. All that tinkering comes in handy when the trio discovers an evil scientist's dastardly plan to rob a museum. Can three inventors, armed with their wacky creations, hope to defeat this criminal mastermind? [...] by Publisher : 'Bloomsbury Publishing USA'



• Author :_Kevin Ashton
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1448185572
• ISBN-13 :_9781448185573

DownloadRead Now



• Description : WINNER OF THE 800-CEO-READ BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015 In the vein of Susan Cain's QUIET and Malcolm Gladwell's DAVID AND GOLIATH, HOW TO FLY A HORSE is a smart, empowering book that dispels the myths around genius and creativity. There is a myth about how something new comes to be; that geniuses have dramatic moments of insight where great things and thoughts are born whole. Symphonies are composed complete. Science is accomplished with eureka shrieks. Businesses are built by magic touch. The myth is wrong. Anyone can create. Acclaimed technology pioneer Kevin Ashton takes us behind the scenes of creation to reveal the true process of discovery and how ‘new’ comes to be. From Archimedes to Apple, from Kandinsky to the Coke can, from the Wright brothers – who set out to ‘fly a horse’ – to Woody Allen, he exposes the seemingly unremarkable individuals, gradual steps, multiple failures and countless ordinary and often uncredited acts that led to our most astounding breakthroughs. [...] by Publisher : 'Random House'