Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Stove8kd"


• Author :_Sherry Jones
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1501102443
• ISBN-13 :_9781501102448

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today. [...] by Publisher : 'Gallery Books'



• Author :_N. D. Galland
• Pages :_320 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062672843
• ISBN-13 :_9780062672841

DownloadRead Now



• Description : “N. D. Galland has created a delectable romantic comedy set in her home town of Martha’s Vineyard long after the summer crowds have departed. With a satirist’s eye and a pitch-perfect ear for the social nuances of small-town life, it’s Pride and Prejudice for the Bumble generation.” — Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of March and The Secret Chord From the critically acclaimed author of Stepdog and The Fool’s Tale comes a romantic comedy that tells the story of one journalist secretly juggling two bylines for competing newspapers on a small island. One island, two newspapers, and the reporter who played them both Johanna Howes is a Martha’s Vineyard native who left the Island at 18 and moved to New York City to become a writer. Now in her 30s, she reluctantly returns to care for her cranky, injured uncle. Needing income, she freelances for one island newspaper (the one Uncle Hank likes). But that doesn’t cover her bills, so she creates an alter ego to write for the rival paper (the one Uncle Hank doesn’t like). The Vineyard has a split personality – part elite summer resort, part working-class small town. The Island’s two papers –the Journal and the Newes – are famously at odds with each other and reflect the seasonal schism in their reporting. Everybody’s shoulder seems to have a chip on it. Johanna gets personally ensnared in a messy situation she’s assigned to write about for both papers: a wealthy seasonal resident sues the town for the right to use his private helicopter. When Johanna agrees to a cup of coffee with the witty, handsome stranger she meets at a zoning board meeting, she has no idea she’s made a date with Orion Smith, helicopter owner. Orion, meanwhile, doesn’t realize Johanna is the niece of his political nemesis, Henry Holmes. Johanna scrambles to keep her disparate identities separate from each other in the tiny off-season community, but everything she does just gets her into deeper trouble…and further complicates her budding romance with the exasperating charmer she’s doing her best not to fall for. A story about the half-truths we tell ourselves – and others – especially when our hearts are on the line. “The most exciting story of skullduggery, intrigue and drama on Martha’s Vineyard since the last time Alan Dershowitz was snubbed at a cocktail party.” — Peter Sagal, Host of NPR’s “Wait, Wait...Don’t Tell Me!” and author of The Incomplete Book of Running “[A] gem of a novel. . . . this rollicking rom-com unfolds on Martha’s Vineyard, which has spun its own share of fables. Quick, somebody call Hollywood. This one is ready for the big screen.” — Bob Drogin, author of Curveball: Spies, Lies and the Con Man Who Caused a War [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Neile McQueen Toffel
• Pages :_341 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1425918182
• ISBN-13 :_9781425918187

DownloadRead Now



• Description : MY HUSBAND, MY FRIEND THE REAL STEVE McQUEEN - FROM ABANDONED CHILD TO GLITTERING SUPERSTAR TO HAUNTED MAN.... Now his wife of 15 and a half years, Neile, who rode the dazzling Hollywood roller coaster with him, reveals A Steve McQueen no one knew – his good side, his crazy side, his dark side.... [...] by Publisher : 'AuthorHouse'



• Author :_Steven Adams
• Pages :_144 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781985637016
• ISBN-13 :_1985637014

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The purpose of this book is to help you find in Word a valuable tool instead of an obstacle, to enjoy using it while you become familiar with some powerful aspects of this great editor. The order of the main sections reflects the order an author may like to observe. Assuming you enjoy some familiarity with Word, I skip functions such as how to change the style of a paragraph: the book is not for experts, but also not for absolute beginners; I'm not providing an exhaustive presentation of Word's abilities and disabilities. Everywhere emphasis is given to common mistakes and to ways of letting the program be effective, achieving easily tasks that may otherwise need a lot of time, especially when a document is large and complex. [...] by Publisher : 'Createspace Independent Publishing Platform'



• Author :_John Saker
• Pages :_143 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781927249185
• ISBN-13 :_192724918X

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Basketball is one of the fastest growing sports in New Zealand' - NZ Institute of Sport Sports memoir with a big market Engaging story of how a kid from Wellington became NZ's first international pro basketball player Includes Saker's US trip to look at NBA life of NZ's latest and greatest ever basketball star, Steven Adams Author's book How to Drink a Glass of Wine is an Awa Press lifetime best-seller In this candid and beautifully written memoir, John Saker tells of his lifetime love affair with one of the world's most popular sports, how it changed his life, and the head-spinning moments when this 'minor' sport became the talk of New Zealand. From his early teens, when throwing hoops was a way of dealing with family tragedy, through his scholarship to a US university, career in France as New Zealand's first professional basketball player, and selection to the Tall Blacks, Saker canvasses both highs and lows of a sport where players such as Steven Adams today command multimillion dollar salaries. [...] by Publisher : 'no defined'

Icy Graves

2018-06-01 | History


• Author :_Stephen Haddelsey
• Pages :_264 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0750988800
• ISBN-13 :_9780750988803

DownloadRead Now



• Description : It is no secret that the Antarctic is one of the most dangerous, forbidding places for explorers to step foot in. The terrain is treacherous, the wildlife predatory and the climate fatal if not adequately prepared for. For the first time, Icy Graves uses a selection of the tragic losses of such famous explorers as Arthur Farrant, Belgrave Ninnis and Robert Falcon Scott to plot the forward progress of Antarctic exploration and sensitively tells, often in their own words, the stories of the men and women who have fallen in what Sir Ernest Shackleton called the ‘White Warfare of the South’. [...] by Publisher : 'The History Press'



• Author :_Steve Adams
• Pages :_172 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0281077916
• ISBN-13 :_9780281077915

DownloadRead Now



• Description : When facing a red light, what can you say to turn it green? Hooking an audience? Sweating in a job interview? The results of what you say aren’t coincidence. Whether you persuade, or not, is down to whether you use the right prompts. The Centre Brain – the body’s action centre – responds to what it hears. And, if the right prompts are used, the brain can be persuaded to act. This book explains why your communication works, or doesn’t. Why you prompt action, or don’t. The result of a 20-year quest to discover what prompts action, this book offers readers a glimpse into the story behind their stories. Combining psychological insight, real-life experience and inspiring application, this book will empower you to really make the most of your message. 'This book will help you get to the heart of what makes people and their communication persuasive.' – Ram Gidoomal CBE, international businessman [...] by Publisher : 'SPCK'



• Author :_John Saker
• Pages :_120 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781927249161
• ISBN-13 :_1927249163

DownloadRead Now



• Description : New Zealand has become one of the world's great wine-drinking and producing countries. Top wine writer, John Saker has blended a thousand impressions, delicious experiences and startled taste-buds into an engrossing guide to the world's most loved - and debated - beverage. [...] by Publisher : 'no defined'