Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Small Hours"

Small Hours

2017-06-13 | Fiction


• Author :_Jennifer Kitses
• Pages :_288 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1455598496
• ISBN-13 :_9781455598496

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel--told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day--in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos. [...] by Publisher : 'Grand Central Publishing'



• Author :_Maria Mutch
• Pages :_205 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1476702748
• ISBN-13 :_9781476702742

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Describes the two-year period during which the author's son, a child with autism and Down syndrome, did not sleep through the night, an isolating experience she likens to the story of polar explorer Admiral Richard Byrd. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_Palak Loyalka
• Pages :_80 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1948032481
• ISBN-13 :_9781948032483

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The Small Hours is about a young girl who takes a one-month vacation to Goa after she has a relapse. While in Goa, she meets a gay couple, and her story gets entwined with theirs. The story talks about her experience there and how she overcomes depression. [...] by Publisher : 'Notion Press'



• Author :_Charles Finch
• Pages :_310 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1250011604
• ISBN-13 :_9781250011602

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Visiting his uncle's estate in Somerset for what he hopes will be a quiet working vacation, politician and new father Charles Lenox investigates a series of seemingly small acts of vandalism only to uncover a sinister plot by an adversary who may be targeting someone Lenox loves. 50,000 first printing. [...] by Publisher : 'Macmillan'



• Author :_Roque Dalton
• Pages :_201 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UOM:39015041543565

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "English-only edition of poems written from exile, prison, and on the run by the Salvadoran revolutionary whose life and word urged love as well as change. Selected from 10 of his collections including two posthumous manuscripts, but none are from Poemasclandestinos (1980). The vital force of the intimate, conversational Spanish challenges the translators. Introductory essays by Ernesto Cardenal, Claribel Alegrâia, and Hardie St. Martin recommend work for the classroom and the general reader"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58. [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_Susie Boyt
• Pages :_320 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_140551146X
• ISBN-13 :_9781405511469

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Harriet Mansfield, brave, wry and handsome, is determined to triumph no matter what. With a decade of therapy under her belt and a new large inheritance, it seems there is nothing she cannot achieve. So she decides to open the school of her dreams. To her precious little girls, rich in everything but care, she vows to provide the happiest childhoods in the world. For everyone knows that early years passed in delightful ways can set you up for life. But can this ambitious new departure spill some retrospective sweetness onto Harriet's own harsh beginnings, or better still cancel them out altogether? Will the family she's estranged from ever grant her the recognition she craves? Written with deep psychological insight and coal-black humour The Small Hours is a stunning meditation on love, self-love and forgiveness, and their shadowy opposites. [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'



• Author :_Nancy Klein Maguire
• Pages :_272 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1586485423
• ISBN-13 :_9781586485429

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In 1960, five young men arrived at the imposing gates of Parkminster, the largest center of the most rigorous and ascetic monastic order in the Western world: the Carthusians. This is the story of their five-year journey into a society virtually unchanged in its behavior and lifestyle since its foundation in 1084. An Infinity of Little Hours is a uniquely intimate portrait of the customs and practices of a monastic order almost entirely unknown until now. It is also a drama of the men's struggle as they avoid the 1960s—the decade of hedonism, music, fashion, and amorality—and enter an entirely different era and a spiritual world of their own making. After five years each must face a choice: to make "solemn profession" and never leave Parkminster; or to turn his back on his life's ambition to find God in solitude. A remarkable investigative work, the book combines first-hand testimony with unique source material to describe the Carthusian life. And in the final chapter, which recounts a reunion forty years after the events described elsewhere in the book, Nancy Klein Maguire reveals which of the five succeeded in their quest, and which did not. [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'

Smaller Hours

2017-09-26 | Poetry


• Author :_Kevin Shaw
• Pages :_80 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780864929990
• ISBN-13 :_0864929994

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Stately and majestic, yet scuffed with wear and disillusion, the poems of Smaller Hours mount the sky like columns and fora of some archaic ruin. Through these ancient halls, Kevin Shaw tracks Eros, clearing away the rubble and polishing the marble, along the way exploring queer ways of keeping time. Music and movies, clocks and inventors populate these poems. History casts a shadow over all. Kevin Shaw's debut collection is a tour de force of control and grace; musical lines anchored by powerful rhythms dance into the reader's ear. The speakers of these lyrics encounter Nijinsky in a waiting room, Ovid at the laundromat, or re-enact a devastating flood after a night of drinking. From a mixtape full of quarter-century-old regrets, to the sensuality of a harmonica buzzing against pursed lips, to the violence and hope of Stonewall, Smaller Hours collapses the past with the present and the personal with the public, taking a sideways glance at historical figures -- inventors, poets, movie stars -- from across a gay bar's crowded dance floor. [...] by Publisher : 'Icehouse poetry'



• Author :_Nadia Bolz-Weber
• Pages :_165 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781596270862
• ISBN-13 :_1596270861

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The author, a Lutheran theologian and former stand-up comic who had never before watched religious broadcasting, spent 24 hours immersing herself in the messages and culture of religious television. [...] by Publisher : 'Church Publishing, Inc.'

News Update

Genre