Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Purple Hearts Front Lines"


• Author :_Michael Grant
• Pages :_576 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780062342225
• ISBN-13 :_0062342223

DownloadRead Now



• Description : New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes the gritty and powerful conclusion to the Front Line series and evokes the brutal truth of World War II: War is hell. An epic tale of historical reimagining, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and Salt to the Sea. Courage, sacrifice, and fear have lead Rio, Frangie, and Rainy through front-line battles in North Africa and Sicily, and their missions are not over. These soldiers and thousands of Allies must fight their deadliest battle yet—for their country and their lives—as they descend into the freezing water and onto the treacherous sands of Omaha Beach. It is June 6, 1944. D-Day has arrived. No longer naive recruits, these soldier girls are now Silver Star recipients and battle-hardened. Others look to them for guidance and confidence, but this is a war that will leave sixty million dead. Flesh will turn to charcoal. Piles will be made of torn limbs. The women must find a way to lead while holding on to their own last shreds of belief in humanity. Praise for Silver Stars: "Exhaustive research, immersive storytelling, and emotional depth make for a superlative tale.” —Kirkus (starred review) Praise for Front Lines: “A gripping and heart-wrenching tale.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “A magnificent alternate history.” —Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity [...] by Publisher : 'Katherine Tegen Books'



• Author :_Michael Grant
• Pages :_592 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780062342164
• ISBN-13 :_0062342169

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Perfect for fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines. World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany. Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war. These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known. [...] by Publisher : 'Katherine Tegen Books'



• Author :_Michael Grant
• Pages :_496 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1780316550
• ISBN-13 :_9781780316550

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The second novel in the epic new young adult series that Michael Grant is calling his best yet! It's WWII but not as you know it from school. This time the girls are on the Front Lines and not on the Home Front. Summer 1943. The enemy has been bloodied, but Nazi Germany is very far from beaten. Now the American army is moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily. With heavy memories of combat, the three young soldier girls – Rio, Frangie and Rainy – now know what they are willing to do to save themselves, and understand the consequences of those actions. On the front lines, they will again come face to face with the brutality of war until they win or die, while simultaneously fighting their own personal battles. No one will emerge unscathed. In the tradition of The Book Thief, Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray, Front Lines gives the experience of WWII a new immediacy while playing with the ‘what ifs?’ of history. Exclusive Front Lines story, Dead of Night to be 2017 World Book Day book. Praise for Front Lines: “What if American women had fought alongside men in World War II? Michael Grant gives us a magnificent alternate history that feels so real and right and true it seems impossible that it wasn’t. Every one of these fictional soldiers has wrapped herself around my heart.” (Elizabeth Wein, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity) “Michael Grant is a master of twists that not only tear at his readers’ consciences, they hold a mirror up to our here and now and insist we consider what might otherwise be. Front Lines is a masterpiece of speculative story crafting.” (Andrew Smith, Printz Honor winning author of Grasshopper Jungle) Front Lines was shortlisted for Feminist Book of the Year in the Maximum Pop Bookish Awards. Michael Grant has lived an exciting, fast-paced life. He moved in with his wife Katherine after only 24 hours. He has co-authored over 160 books including the bestselling GONE series but promises that everything he writes is like nothing you’ve ever read before! [...] by Publisher : 'Egmont UK'



• Author :_Michael Grant
• Pages :_29 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_006234224X
• ISBN-13 :_9780062342249

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In this first digital original novella set in the world of the Front Lines series, Michael Grant showcases the real-life female journalists of World War II who became the first women war correspondents in history. When fierce reporter Anne “Spats” Patrone joins the front lines, she gains access to the female soldiers of Second Squad, Fifth Platoon, Company A, 119th Division, including Rio Richlin. During her journalistic investigation on the front lines she will discover that women are capable of much more than fighting. But what starts out as a pursuit for a story turns deadly when Germans attack. Will Spats make it out alive? [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Tess Wakefield
• Pages :_320 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1501136496
• ISBN-13 :_9781501136498

DownloadRead Now



• Description : When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives. Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one... [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_Nina Auguste Berman
• Pages :_92 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781904563341
• ISBN-13 :_1904563341

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A purple heart is the token honour given to soldiers for their wounds. It is the title Nina Berman has given to her photographs of American soldiers gravely wounded in the Iraq war. The images are accompanied by first person interviews with the soldiers who discuss their lives, reasons for enlisting and experience in Iraq. [...] by Publisher : 'Trolley Limited'



• Author :_Paul Solotaroff
• Pages :_205 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UOM:39015034286701

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Tells the story of the New England Shelter for Homeless Vets, and describes its job training, post-trauma stress disorder therapy, and treatment options for detoxification [...] by Publisher : 'Harpercollins'



• Author :_Margaret Bourke-White
• Pages :_315 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1786257432
• ISBN-13 :_9781786257437

DownloadRead Now



• Description : An excellent, richly illustrated, account of the bloodiest phase of the Italian campaign. Here is a report—in pictures and in words—of exactly what happened to our men during the bitterest phases of the Italian campaign. This report is not based upon a hurried visit behind the lines; Margaret Bourke-White spent a full five months on the Italian front photographing, questioning, observing, and living in close association with our troops. She was not content to remain safely behind the combat area. She flew over the German lines and narrowly escaped being shot down. On the ground she came closer to the enemy lines than any woman has been before the most advanced American post around Cassino. [...] by Publisher : 'Pickle Partners Publishing'



• Author :_James Beverly Willis
• Pages :_226 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781499102451
• ISBN-13 :_1499102453

DownloadRead Now



• Description : This is a true, intriguing love story of a young soldier for his Creator, family, and country. As a young boy growing up on the back roads of a farming community in rural Indiana, James and his brothers were taught many skills that came with farming as well as learning to hunt. His dad taught him how to use a rifle well and even how to listen to the woods and nature around him; because of this youthful experience he earned the "Expert Rifleman" badge in the army. He was an outstanding friend, a man of unique character, James was a person who could always be trusted to "have your back!" Although he was an ordinary young man living in an extraordinary time, he never lost the sense of who he was at heart-- and his faith in God. His quiet, unassuming, yet engaging personality propelled him to a different world he never knew, or could have ever imagined. The reader will be amazed and intrigued by the stories told in vivid detail - captured through the eyes of a young soldier while serving with the 77th Infantry Division of the army in the Pacific Theater during World War II. -- back cover. [...] by Publisher : ''

News Update

Genre