Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Kathy Hepinstall"

Blue Asylum

2012-04-10 | Fiction


• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall
• Pages :_320 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0547712081
• ISBN-13 :_9780547712086

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A woman falls in love with a wounded Civil War solider in this “fine novel embroidered with rich imagery”about the line between sanity and madness (Kirkus Reviews). When Virginia plantation wife Iris Dunleavy is put on trial and convicted of madness, she knows the real criminal is her husband. After all, the only thing she’s guilty of is disagreeing with him on notions of justice, cruelty, and property. Sent away to a remote Florida island, Iris meets an odd collection of residents in Sanibel Asylum: some seemingly sane, some wrongly convinced they are crazy, some dangerously unstable. And while Iris isn’t sure what to make of haunted Confederate soldier Ambrose Weller—whose memories terrorize him into wild fits that can only be calmed by the color blue—she does know that his gentleness and dark eyes call to her like nothing she’s ever known before . . . “Deftly interweaving past and present, Hepinstall sets the struggles of her characters against the rigidity of a traditional Southern society and the brutality of war in an absorbing story that explores both the rewards and perils of love, pride, and sanity itself.” —Publishers Weekly [...] by Publisher : 'HMH'



• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0399562109
• ISBN-13 :_9780399562105

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Willow is ten years old and obsessed with the fear that her mother will die. Her mother, Polly, is a cantankerous, take-no-prisoners Southern woman with a sharp tongue who lives to shoot varmints, and drink margaritas; and she sticks out like a sore thumb among the young mothers of their small Texas town. She was in her late 50s when Willow was born, has already had two children who are grown and gone, leaving Willow hungry for clues about the family life that preceded her. A bittersweet novel about the grip of love in a truly quirky family, featuring two unforgettable characters. [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'



• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780380809363
• ISBN-13 :_0380809362

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In a year of war, sixteen-year-old Charlotte sets off on a mission of love in the backwoods of Louisiana, only to be violated by three soldiers in a lonely section of the forest. Charlotte's young life is destroyed, but another life is growing inside her. Years later, in peacetime, Charlotte comes to House of Gentle Men, a mysterious sanctuary where sad, damaged women are administered to by haunted men wishing to atone for their past crimes. Here, Charolotte falls in love with one of the Gentle Men, a tormented young soldier with a terrible secret of his own. An artistic triumph of the highest order, this debut is a transcendent tale of salvation that celebrates the strength of the heart. [...] by Publisher : 'Harper Collins'



• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall
• Pages :_390 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780732274016
• ISBN-13 :_073227401X

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Alice is a precocious 12-year-old growing up in rural Texas with one wish on her mind - to get rid of Simon Jester. Simon is the man who saved Alice's mother, Meg, from drowning. Simon is Meg's hero - and her new husband. He's a mysterious man whose own family, he says, drowned in a nearby lake. [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall
• Pages :_191 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781587244384
• ISBN-13 :_1587244381

DownloadRead Now



• Description : In an obsessive attempt to protect her son from the innumerable dangers of the world, Martha kidnaps him and hides in an isolated cave before reluctantly befriending a detective who has been hired to bring them back home. [...] by Publisher : 'Wheeler Publishing'



• Author :_Kathy Hepinstall, Becky Hepinstall Hilliker
• Pages :_256 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0544400003
• ISBN-13 :_9780544400009

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A collaboration between the best-selling author of Blue Asylum and her sister to present the stories of two Southern sisters, one a widow and the other who is in love with a soldier, who join the Confederate Army in the guises of men. 35,000 first printing. [...] by Publisher : 'Houghton Mifflin Harcourt'



• Author :_Kathy Parks
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062393995
• ISBN-13 :_9780062393999

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that’s perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances. Some people might say that Denver has a death wish. Why else would she dare to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she’d be surrounded by enemies? Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he’d ask her out, but who is she to question this miracle of fate? Well, that isn’t the only surprise fate has in store. During the party a tsunami hits the coast of California, and Denver and a handful of others escape death and are swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways is none other than her ex-BFF, Abigail, who can barely stand the sight of her. Trapped on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first—dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister? [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Alison Bechdel
• Pages :_224 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0547524366
• ISBN-13 :_9780547524368

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From the best-selling author of Fun Home, Time magazine’s No. 1 Book of the Year, a brilliantly told graphic memoir of Alison Bechdel becoming the artist her mother wanted to be. Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home was a pop culture and literary phenomenon. Now, a second thrilling tale of filial sleuthery, this time about her mother: voracious reader, music lover, passionate amateur actor. Also a woman, unhappily married to a closeted gay man, whose artistic aspirations simmered under the surface of Bechdel's childhood . . . and who stopped touching or kissing her daughter good night, forever, when she was seven. Poignantly, hilariously, Bechdel embarks on a quest for answers concerning the mother-daughter gulf. It's a richly layered search that leads readers from the fascinating life and work of the iconic twentieth-century psychoanalyst Donald Winnicott, to one explosively illuminating Dr. Seuss illustration, to Bechdel’s own (serially monogamous) adult love life. And, finally, back to Mother—to a truce, fragile and real-time, that will move and astonish all adult children of gifted mothers. [...] by Publisher : 'Houghton Mifflin Harcourt'



• Author :_M.E. Roufa
• Pages :_ sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1938463420
• ISBN-13 :_9781938463426

DownloadRead Now



• Description : As the world’s first completely illegal clone of America’s 16th President, Abe Finkelstein grew up with just one wish: to live his life just like anybody else. But when you’re a living ringer for one of the country’s best-loved historical figures, privacy is hard to come by—especially when your face is on money. Across town, Norma Greenberg, one of the world’s many Marilyn Monroe clones, is struggling with identity issues of a different sort. It’s not easy going through life as a copy of the beautiful Norma Jeane Baker! When Abe is taken away by government agents eager to discover the secrets of his illustrious ancestor, Norma could be Abe’s last hope of escape—or, thanks to her kleptomania, his worst chance of recapture. With only their wits, a cigarette lighter, a bottle of perfume, and the disembodied arm of Richard Nixon, can Abe and Norma make it back to safety and anonymity? [...] by Publisher : 'Bitingduck Press LLC'

News Update

Genre