Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "In Another Time"


• Author :_Caroline Leech
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062459937
• ISBN-13 :_9780062459930

DownloadRead Now



• Description : “A glowing story of friendship, growth, and a steadfast first love, as teenage Maisie negotiates the forests of the heart and of World War II Scotland with equal determination.” —Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity A romantic historical YA novel featuring strong female characters from the acclaimed author of Wait for Me. It’s 1942, and as the war rages in Europe, Maisie McCall is in the Scottish Highlands swinging an axe for the Women’s Timber Corps. Maisie relishes her newfound independence working alongside other lumberjacks—including the mysterious John Lindsay. As Maisie and John work side by side felling trees together, Maisie can’t help but feel that their friendship has the spark of something more to it. And yet every time she gets close to him, John pulls away. It’s not until Maisie rescues John from a terrible logging accident that he begins to open up to her about the truth of his past, and the pain he’s been hiding. Suddenly everything is more complicated than Maisie expected. And as she helps John untangle his shattered history, she must decide if she’s willing to risk her heart to help heal his. But in a world devastated by war, love might be the only thing left that can begin to heal what’s broken. [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Caroline Leech
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0008249164
• ISBN-13 :_9780008249168

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A captivating World War II romance from the author of WAIT FOR ME, perfect for fans of CODE NAME VERITY and SALT TO THE SEA. [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins UK'



• Author :_W. H. Auden
• Pages :_116 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780571234370
• ISBN-13 :_0571234372

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Contains poems about people, places and the intellectual climate of the times. This volume by Auden was published after his departure to America with Christopher Isherwood in January 1939. [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_James Cowell
• Pages :_ sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1326394010
• ISBN-13 :_9781326394011

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Lulu.com'



• Author :_Louis-Ferdinand Cäline
• Pages :_239 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780803264243
• ISBN-13 :_0803264240

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "The tale of a man imprisoned and reviled by his own countrymen, the Fable follows its character's decline from virulent hatred to near madness as a result of his violent frustration with the hypocrisy and banality of his fellow human beings. In part because of the story's clear link to his own case - and because of the legal and political difficulties this presented - Celine was compelled to push his famously elliptical, brilliantly vitriolic language to new and extraordinary extremes in Fable for Another Time. The resulting linguistic and stylistic innovation make this work stand out as one of the most original and revealing literary undertakings of its time."--BOOK JACKET. [...] by Publisher : 'U of Nebraska Press'



• Author :_Harold Schindler
• Pages :_211 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780874212426
• ISBN-13 :_0874212421

DownloadRead Now



• Description : An illustrated collection of historical articles originally published in the Salt Lake Tribune from 1993 to 1996, In Another Time provides both an entertaining introduction to Utah and a distinguished and popular historian's summary views of the state's peculiar history. Another Time will entertain and inform newcomers seeking an introductory understanding of what has made Utah different, old hands wanting to know more about the rich complexity of the state's past, and anyone who enjoys well-told historical tales. [...] by Publisher : 'Utah State University Press'



• Author :_Kay Rogers
• Pages :_ sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1468513613
• ISBN-13 :_9781468513615

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'AuthorHouse'



• Author :_Jillian Cantor
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780062863324
• ISBN-13 :_0062863320

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A sweeping historical novel that spans Germany, England, and the United States and follows a young couple torn apart by circumstance leading up to World War II—and the family secret that may prove to be the means for survival. Love brought them together. But only time can save them… 1931, Germany. Bookshop owner Max Beissinger meets Hanna Ginsberg, a budding concert violinist, and immediately he feels a powerful chemistry between them. It isn’t long before they fall in love and begin making plans for the future. As their love affair unfolds over the next five years, the climate drastically changes in Germany as Hitler comes to power. Their love is tested with the new landscape and the realities of war, not the least of which is that Hanna is Jewish and Max is not. But unbeknownst to Hanna is the fact that Max has a secret, which causes him to leave for months at a time—a secret that Max is convinced will help him save Hanna if Germany becomes too dangerous for her because of her religion. In 1946, Hanna Ginsberg awakens in a field outside of Berlin. Disoriented and afraid, she has no memory of the past ten years and no idea what has happened to Max. With no information as to Max’s whereabouts—or if he is even still alive—she decides to move to London to live with her sister while she gets her bearings. Even without an orchestra to play in, she throws herself completely into her music to keep alive her lifelong dream of becoming a concert violinist. But the music also serves as a balm to heal her deeply wounded heart and she eventually gets the opening she long hoped for. Even so, as the days, months, and years pass, taking her from London to Paris to Vienna to America, she continues to be haunted by her forgotten past, and the fate of the only man she has ever loved and cannot forget. Told in alternating viewpoints—Max in the years leading up to WWII, and Hanna in the ten years after—In Another Time is a beautiful novel about love and survival, passion and music, across time and continents. [...] by Publisher : 'Harper Perennial'



• Author :_Michael E. Tessier
• Pages :_164 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0595448372
• ISBN-13 :_9780595448371

DownloadRead Now



• Description : There are no paradoxes in time, only looped back versions of history we call alternate realities. Under the sands of Egypt and near the Sphinx, two amateur archeologists make a most unexpected find. Instead of a Pharaohs tomb, they uncover an ancient, dust-choked room filled with books, computers and modern equipment. The tomb is least five thousand years old. Slowly, the young spelunkers unravel the mystery of the apparent paradox. They also discover a working Time Machine. Time itself has taken an alternate course. The powerful European Trade Confederation bullies a depressed, non-nuclear United States. The British Empire controls their colonial possessions with an iron fist. Time for the young discoverers is running out. Global events are slowly colliding where retaining the secret of their discovery is almost impossible. A race develops to get the secrets of time travel out of the country. [...] by Publisher : 'iUniverse'

News Update

Genre