Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Happy Doomsday A Novel"

Happy Doomsday

2018-09 |


• Author :_David Sosnowski
• Pages :_444 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781503901292
• ISBN-13 :_1503901297

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The end of the world is the weirdest time to come of age. Welcome to the end of the world. One minute, people are going about their lives, and the next--not. In the wake of the inexplicable purge, only a handful of young misfits remains. When it all went down, "Wizard of Odd" Dev Brinkman was seeking shelter from the taunts of his classmates. Goth girl Lucy Abernathy had lost her best friend and had no clue where to turn. And Twinkie-loving quarterback "Marcus" Haddad was learning why you never discuss politics and religion in polite company--or online. As if life when you're sixteen isn't confusing enough, throw in the challenges of postapocalyptic subsistence, a case of survivor's guilt turned up to seven billion, and the small task of rebuilding humankind... No one said doomsday would be a breeze. But for Dev, Lucy, and Marcus, the greatest hope--and greatest threat--will come when they find each other. [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_Connie Willis
• Pages :_576 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0575131101
• ISBN-13 :_9780575131101

DownloadRead Now



• Description : For Kivrin Engle, preparing an on-site study of one of the deadliest eras in humanity's history was as simple as receiving inoculations against the diseases of the fourteenth century and inventing an alibi for a woman traveling alone. For her instructors in the twenty-first century, it meant painstaking calculations and careful monitoring of the rendezvous location where Kivrin would be received. But a crisis strangely linking past and future strands Kivrin in a bygone age as her fellows try desperately to rescue her. In a time of superstition and fear, Kivrin - barely of age herself - finds she has become an unlikely angel of hope during one of history's darkest hours. Winner of the Hugo Award 1993 Winner of the Nebula Award 1993 "A tour de force" - New York Times Book Review "Ambitious, finely detailed and compulsivly readable" - Locus "It is a book that feels fundamentally true; it is a book to live in" - Washington Post [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'

Vamped

2004-08-04 | Fiction


• Author :_David Sosnowski
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0743270851
• ISBN-13 :_9780743270854

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Martin Kowalski is an eighty-year-old man stuck in a twenty-year-old body. He works the graveyard shift. He has a poster of Bela Lugosi on his wall and a box of uneaten Count Chocula in his pantry. He drinks stem-cell-derived blood from cleverly packaged and marketed juice boxes. He is, in short, a vampire. But since his wildly successful scheme to turn as many mortals as possible into vampires -- "vamp" them rather than kill them -- resulted in a new immortal majority, Marty finds little of interest to fill his countless days. From the deeply imaginative mind of David Sosnowski -- who gave us the critically acclaimed junkie-angel classic Rapture -- bursts this neo-vampire novel studded with pint-size vampires known as "screamers" (children who were vamped and are none too happy about it); priest vampires who helped convert their flock into lifetime members of the Church; stripper vampires who lap-danced their way into customers' veins; and one very small, very outspoken human girl. When Marty decides to end his endless life of soul-crushing ennui -- call it vampire affluenza -- a three-foot blond obstacle is thrown in his path: Isuzu Trooper Cassidy, a refugee from a human hunting preserve. At first he thinks "midnight snack," but before the sun comes up, Isuzu is the one snacking on his prized cereal collection as she charms him into staying undead long enough to raise her in a world rife with danger and almost entirely populated by vampires yearning for the taste of real human blood. The critics applauded David Sosnowski when Rapture was published, saying he "staked out a patch of turf somewhere between Franz Kafka and Douglas Adams." Now with Vamped, Sosnowski takes on a time-honored genre and breathes new life into it by turning Martin Kowalski's vampire world upside down and telling his story with rich, masterful, and frequently hilarious prose. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_David Sosnowski
• Pages :_295 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UOM:39015038528181

DownloadRead Now



• Description : As a virus stalks America that causes its victims to sprout wings, Alexander "Zander" Wiles has great difficulty coping with the situation, until he meets angel therapist and author Cassie O'Connor, who helps him face his new world and teaches him how to fly. A first novel. 25,000 first printing. [...] by Publisher : 'Villard Books'



• Author :_H. C. Darby
• Pages :_432 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780521310260
• ISBN-13 :_0521310261

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Domesday Book is the most famous English public record, and it is probably the most remarkable statistical document in the history of Europe. It calls itself merely a descriptio and it acquired its name in the following century because its authority seemed comparable to that of the Book by which one day all will be judged (Revelation 20:12). It is not surprising that so many scholars have felt its fascination, and have discussed again and again what it says about economic, social and legal matters. But it also tells us much about the countryside of the eleventh century, and the present volume is the seventh of a series concerned with this geographical information. As the final volume, it seeks to sum up the main features of the Domesday geography of England as a whole, and to reconstruct, as far as the materials allow, the scene which King William's clerks saw as they made their great inquest. [...] by Publisher : 'Cambridge University Press'



• Author :_Lori Handeland
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780312949198
• ISBN-13 :_0312949197

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Finding her beloved foster mother Ruth brutally murdered in her kitchen, psychic Liz Phoenix begins to experience terrifying visions of horrific creatures, dreams that may be linked to her former lover, Jimmy Sanducci, who reveals to her the truth about a supernatural war that has raged since the dawn of time and of her role as a warrior in that battle. Original. [...] by Publisher : 'Macmillan'



• Author :_Joe Navarro
• Pages :_368 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1501128272
• ISBN-13 :_9781501128271

DownloadRead Now



• Description : An intense cat-and-mouse game played between two brilliant men in the last days of the Cold War, this shocking insider’s story shows how a massive giveaway of secret war plans and nuclear secrets threatened America with annihilation. In 1988 Joe Navarro, one of the youngest agents ever hired by the FBI, was dividing his time between SWAT assignments, flying air reconnaissance, and working counter-intelligence. But his real expertise was “reading” body language. He possessed an uncanny ability to glean the thoughts of those he interrogated. So it was that, on a routine assignment to interview a “person of interest”—a former American soldier named Rod Ramsay—Navarro noticed his interviewee’s hand trembling slightly when he was asked about another soldier who had recently been arrested in Germany on suspicion of espionage. That thin lead was enough for the FBI agent to insist to his bosses that an investigation be opened. What followed is unique in the annals of espionage detection—a two-year-long battle of wits. The dueling antagonists: an FBI agent who couldn’t overtly tip to his target that he suspected him of wrongdoing lest he clam up, and a traitor whose weakness was the enjoyment he derived from sparring with his inquisitor. Navarro’s job was made even more difficult by his adversary’s brilliance: not only did Ramsay possess an authentic photographic memory as well as the second highest IQ ever recorded by the US Army, he was bored by people who couldn’t match his erudition. To ensure that the information flow would continue, Navarro had to pre-choreograph every interview, becoming a chess master plotting twenty moves in advance. And the backdrop to this mental tug of war was the dissolution of the Soviet Union and the very real possibility that its leaders, in a last bid to alter the course of history, might launch a devastating attack. If they did, they would have Ramsay to thank, because as Navarro would learn over the course of forty-two mind-bending interviews, Ramsay had, by his stunning intelligence giveaways, handed the Soviets the ability to utterly destroy the US. The story of a determined hero who pushed himself to jaw-dropping levels of exhaustion and who rallied his team to expose undreamed of vulnerabilities in America’s defense, Three Minutes to Doomsday will leave the reader with disturbing thoughts of the risks the country takes even today with its most protected national secrets. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_P.Z. Reizin
• Pages :_448 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0751566705
• ISBN-13 :_9780751566703

DownloadRead Now



• Description : 'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes 'Very clever and great fun' Kate Eberlen 'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' Daily Record Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. Don't tell anyone, but Jen is one of my favourite people. (Machines aren't supposed to have favourites. Don't ask me how this has happened.) Jen is sad. Aiden wants her to be happy. Simple? Except that Jen is a thirty-something woman whose boyfriend has just left her and Aiden is a very complicated, very expensive piece of software. Aiden knows Jen inside out. With access to all her devices, he knows her most played song, can find her favourite photos and single out the insta-quotes which most inspire her. Based on observations and unique algorithms, he has calculated that Jen should find a new man to achieve optimum wellbeing. And with the whole of the internet at his disposal, he doesn't have to look far to find a perfect specimen and engineer a meeting. Except Jen seems to be remarkably unwilling to fall in line with Aiden's flawless plan. Can a very artificially intelligent machine discover emotional intelligence in time to fix Jen's life? And find out what exactly makes human beings happy? 'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks 'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney 'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail 'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.' 'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine 'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine 'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror 'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine 'Funny and clever' - Good Housekeeping [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'



• Author :_John Zakour, Lawrence Ganem
• Pages :_368 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1101498242
• ISBN-13 :_9781101498248

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The hilarious sequel to The plutonium Blonde. In the year 2057, the last freelance private investigator, partnered with an experimental A.I. named Harv, solves cases involving androids, future tech wizards, and all sorts of mayhem... [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'

News Update

Genre