Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Columnwtv"


• Author :_E. Michael Lunsford
• Pages :_234 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UOM:39015016273107

DownloadRead Now



• Description : This book enables Lotus users to power up to full speed with 101 ready-to-use macros that make Lotus faster and easier to use, save keystrokes, and multiply its capabilities. [...] by Publisher : 'John Wiley & Sons'



• Author :_Sherry Jones
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1501102451
• ISBN-13 :_9781501102455

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_Peggy Caravantes
• Pages :_208 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1613730349
• ISBN-13 :_9781613730348

DownloadRead Now



• Description : With determination and audacity, Josephine Baker exploited her comic and musical abilities to become a worldwide icon of the Jazz Age. The Many Faces of Josephine Baker: Dancer, Singer, Activist, Spy provides the first in-depth portrait of this remarkable woman for young adults. Digging beneath the sensationalism usually associated with Baker and her uninhibited dancing, author Peggy Caravantes follows Baker's remarkable life from her childhood in the depths of poverty, to her comedic rise in vaudeville, to fame in Europe, outspoken participation in the US Civil Rights Movement, espionage work for the French Resistance during World War II, and adoption of 12 children, each from a different nationality, ethnicity, or religious group—her "rainbow tribe." Also included are informative sidebars on relevant topics such as the 1917 East St. Louis riot, Pullman railway porters, the Charleston, and more; lush photographs; an appendix updating readers on the lives of the rainbow tribe; and source notes and a bibliography, making this a must-have resource for any student, Baker fan, or history buff. Peggy Caravantes is a former English and history teacher, middle school principal, and deputy school superintendent. She is the author of 16 books for middle grades and young adult readers, including Petticoat Spies: Six Women Spies of the Civil War and American Hero: The Audie Murphy Story. Her YA biographies have been selected for the California Titles for Young Adults, Tri-State Books of Note, and the Top Forty Young Adult Nonfiction Books lists. She lives in San Antonio, Texas. [...] by Publisher : 'Chicago Review Press'



• Author :_Dorothea Fischer-Hornung
• Pages :_149 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9783825844738
• ISBN-13 :_3825844730

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A collection of essays concerning the black body in American dance, EmBODYing Liberation serves as an important contribution to the growing field of scholarship in African American dance, in particular the strategies used by individual artists to contest and liberate racialized stagings of the black body. The collection features special essays by Thomas DeFrantz and Brenda Dixon Gottschild, as well as an interview with Isaac Julien. [...] by Publisher : 'LIT Verlag Münster'



• Author :_Anne Edwards
• Pages :_571 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780816140640
• ISBN-13 :_0816140642

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Uncovers the often controversial life of Katharine Hepburn as she fights Hollywood convention to become a star and provides a complete account of her famous love affair with Spencer Tracy [...] by Publisher : 'G K Hall & Company'



• Author :_Bennetta Jules-Rosette
• Pages :_368 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0252074122
• ISBN-13 :_9780252074127

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Beyond biography: a legendary performer's legacy of symbolism [...] by Publisher : 'University of Illinois Press'



• Author :_Matthew Pratt Guterl
• Pages :_250 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0674047559
• ISBN-13 :_9780674047556

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Her performing days numbered, Josephine Baker did something outrageous: she transformed her chateau into a theme park whose main attraction was her Rainbow Tribe--12 children from around the globe, adopted as the family of the future. Matthew Pratt Guterl concludes that Baker was a serious activist, determined to make a positive difference. [...] by Publisher : 'Harvard University Press'



• Author :_Jean-Claude Baker
• Pages :_532 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0815411723
• ISBN-13 :_9780815411727

DownloadRead Now



• Description : This revelatory biography of Folies-Bergere dance Josephine Baker (1906-1975) is a study of struggle, triumph, and tragedy. Abandoned at birth, she battled racism, poverty, and sexism to become an international star. [...] by Publisher : 'Rowman & Littlefield'



• Author :_Sherry Jones
• Pages :_464 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1451633254
• ISBN-13 :_9781451633252

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Rich in intrigue and scheming, love and lust, Sherry Jones’s vibrant historical novel follows four women destined to sway the fate of nations and the hearts of kings… Amid the lush valleys and fragrant wildflowers of Provence, Marguerite, Eléonore, Sanchia, and Beatrice have learned to charm, hunt, dance, and debate under the careful tutelage of their ambitious mother—and to abide by the countess’s motto: “Family comes first.” With Provence under constant attack, their legacy and safety depend upon powerful alliances. Marguerite’s illustrious match with the young King Louis IX makes her Queen of France. Soon Eléonore—independent and daring—is betrothed to Henry III of England. In turn, shy, devout Sanchia and tempestuous Beatrice wed noblemen who will also make them queens. Yet a crown is no guarantee of protection. Enemies are everywhere, from Marguerite’s duplicitous mother-in-law to vengeful lovers and land-hungry barons. Then there are the dangers that come from within, as loyalty succumbs to bitter sibling rivalry, and sister is pitted against sister for the prize each believes is rightfully hers—Provence itself. From the treacherous courts of France and England, to the bloody tumult of the Crusades, Sherry Jones traces the extraordinary true story of four fascinating sisters whose passions, conquests, and progeny shaped the course of history. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_no defined
• Pages :_321 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_OCLC:922596338

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'no defined'



• Author :_Emily Stoper
• Pages :_331 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UOM:39015015330387

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Carlson Pub'



• Author :_Peggy Caravantes
• Pages :_144 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781888105599
• ISBN-13 :_1888105593

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A biography of the man who went from a highly decorated war hero to a career as a movie star in Western and action films. [...] by Publisher : 'Avisson PressInc'