Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "Before We Were Yours 3"


• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0425284697
• ISBN-13 :_9780425284698

DownloadRead Now



• Description : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. *Library Journal Praise for Before We Were Yours “A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.” —People “Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.” —Parade “One of the year’s best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel.” —The Huffington Post “Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power.” —Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun [...] by Publisher : 'Ballantine Books'



• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_240 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1787473090
• ISBN-13 :_9781787473096

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A heartbreaking story of love and loss, based on a true story ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD OVER 30 WEEKS IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER LIST'S TOP TEN WINNER OF GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS 2017 BEST HISTORICAL FICTION AWARD *************************** Memphis, Tennessee, 1939 Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge, until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth... Aiken, South Carolina, present day Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. ********************* 'It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel' Huffington Post Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals, in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country, Before We Were Yours is a riveting, wrenching and ultimately uplifting global bestseller. 'A tale of enduring power' Paula McLain [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'



• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1489233253
• ISBN-13 :_9781489233257

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A compelling, harrowing and utterly redemptive novel that reveals a family torn apart by a shocking betrayal. Based on real-life events of kidnap, illegal adoption and a corrupt orphanage, the fictional narrative brings alive deeply researched real-life events in the manner of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington. The multi-week USA TODAY BESTSELLER! Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life. But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she's never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about May's life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation...or redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins Australia'



• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1101575913
• ISBN-13 :_9781101575918

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From the New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours comes a heartfelt novel about the bonds of family and the power of second chances. When Kate Bowman temporarily moves to her grandmother’s Missouri farm with her husband and baby son, she learns that the lessons that most enrich our lives often come unexpectedly. The family has given Kate the job of convincing Grandma Rose, who’s become increasingly stubborn and forgetful, to move off her beloved land and into a nursing home. But Kate knows such a change would break her grandmother’s heart. Just when Kate despairs of finding answers, she discovers her grandma’s journal. A beautiful handmade notebook, it is full of stories that celebrate the importance of family, friendship, and faith. Stories that make Kate see her life—and her grandmother—in a completely new way... [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'



• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_366 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781441214188
• ISBN-13 :_1441214186

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Adventure is the last thing on Andrea Henderson's mind when she moves to Moses Lake. After surviving the worst year of her life, she's struggling to build a new life for herself and her son as a social worker. Perhaps in doing a job that makes a difference, she can find some sense of purpose and solace in her shattered faith. For new Moses Lake game warden Mart McClendon, finding a sense of purpose in life isn't an issue. He took the job to get out of southwest Texas and the constant reminders of a tragedy for which he can't forgive himself. But when a little girl is seen with the town recluse, Mart and Andrea are drawn together in the search for her identity. The little girl offers them both a new chance at redemption and hope--and may bring them closer than either ever planned. [...] by Publisher : 'Bethany House'



• Author :_Lisa Wingate
• Pages :_448 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1496400410
• ISBN-13 :_9781496400413

DownloadRead Now



• Description : 2015 Christy Award winner! 2015 Carol award winner! When successful New York editor Jen Gibbs discovers a decaying slush-pile manuscript on her desk, she has no idea that the story of Sarra, a young mixed-race woman trapped in Appalachia at the turn of the twentieth century, will both take her on a journey and change her forever. Happy with her life in the city, and at the top of her career with a new job at Vida House Publishing, Jen has left her Appalachian past and twisted family ties far behind. But the search for the rest of the manuscript, and Jen’s suspicions about the identity of its unnamed author, will draw her into a mystery that leads back to the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains . . . and quite possibly through the doors she thought she had closed forever. [...] by Publisher : 'Tyndale House'



• Author :_Julia Alvarez
• Pages :_192 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780307433176
• ISBN-13 :_030743317X

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Anita de la Torre never questioned her freedom living in the Dominican Republic. But by her 12th birthday in 1960, most of her relatives have emigrated to the United States, her Tío Toni has disappeared without a trace, and the government’s secret police terrorize her remaining family because of their suspected opposition of el Trujillo’s dictatorship. Using the strength and courage of her family, Anita must overcome her fears and fly to freedom, leaving all that she once knew behind. From renowned author Julia Alvarez comes an unforgettable story about adolescence, perseverance, and one girl’s struggle to be free. [...] by Publisher : 'Laurel Leaf'



• Author :_Georgia Hunter
• Pages :_403 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0399563083
• ISBN-13 :_9780399563089

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A novel based on the true story of a Jewish-Polish family recounts how the Kurcs are scattered throughout the world by the horrors of World War II and fight hardships to survive, reach safety, and find each other. [...] by Publisher : 'Penguin'



• Author :_Pamela Schoenewaldt
• Pages :_336 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062041797
• ISBN-13 :_9780062041791

DownloadRead Now



• Description : “The people as real as your own family, and the tale realistic enough to be any American’s.” —Nancy E. Turner, author of These is My Words A moving, powerful, and evocative debut novel, When We Were Strangers by Pamela Schoenewaldt heralds the arrival of superb new voice in American fiction. A tale rich in color, character, and vivid historical detail, it chronicles the tumultuous life journey of a young immigrant seamstress, as she travels from her isolated Italian mountain village through the dark corners of late nineteenth century America. A historical novel that readers of Geraldine Brooks, Nancy Turner, Frances de Pontes Peebles, and Debra Dean will most certainly cherish, When We Were Strangers will live in the mind and the heart long after its last page is turned. [...] by Publisher : 'Harper Collins'

News Update

Genre