Recommended Book
Keyword by title : "An Na"


• Author :_An Na
• Pages :_272 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481442406
• ISBN-13 :_9781481442404

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Korean American high school student Joyce Kim feels like a nonentity compared to her beautiful older sister, and when her aunt offers to pay for plastic surgery on her eyes, she jumps at the chance, thinking it will change her life for the better. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_An Na
• Pages :_160 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481442368
• ISBN-13 :_9781481442367

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From master storyteller An Na comes the Printz Award–winning novel about a Korean girl who tells her firsthand account of trying to find her place and identity in America from the day she leaves Korea as a child to her rocky journey through the teenage years. At age four, Young Ju moves with her parents from Korea to Southern California. She has always imagined America would be like heaven: easy, blissful, and full of riches. But when her family arrives, she finds it to be the opposite. With a stubborn language barrier and cultural dissimilarities, not only is it impossible to make friends, but even her family’s internal bonds are wavering. Her parents’ finances are strained, yet her father’s stomach is full of booze. As Young Ju’s once solid and reliable family starts tearing apart, her younger brother begins to gain more freedom and respect simply because of his gender. Young Ju begins to lose all hope in the dream she once held—the heaven she longs for. Even as she begins to finally fit in, a cataclysmic family event will change her idea of heaven forever. But it also helps her to recognize the strength she holds, and envision the future she desires, and deserves. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_An Na
• Pages :_192 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481442422
• ISBN-13 :_9781481442428

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Originally published: New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2006. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'



• Author :_Sophia Michelle Delanner
• Pages :_360 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0990928128
• ISBN-13 :_9780990928126

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Silver medal winner of the 28th (2016) Benjamin Franklin Awards for Best New Voice in Fiction. Gold medal winner of the 4th (2015) Beverly Hills International Book Awards for Literary Fiction. Gold medal winner of the 2016 Next Generation Indie Book Awards for First Novel. Anna, who has always lived under the microscopic judgment of her narcissistic mother, is a Russian immigrant on the verge of turning forty and a single mother of a headstrong teenage daughter. After a life-long succession of regrettable choices and a slew of bad relationships, Anna gives up hope of finding her better half—until she meets David. Their all-consuming love seems timeless and everlasting, but both of their pasts just might destroy their future. A moving tale of three generations of Russian women living in New York City, of fate and love, of bonds that shape and shadow our lives. Crossing generations and continents, Sophia’s narrative details, with uncompromising candor, the joys and hardships of an immigrant renting an apartment in a shabby-chic neighborhood, where the long-buried tensions that fester among families begin to surface in unexpected ways and change the family forever. Engrossing, unpredictable, and moving, the novel will make you laugh out loud one moment and swallow back tears the next. In the vein of Vladimir Nabokov, Mikhail Bulgakov, and Leo Tolstoy, About Anna… presents a rich narrative about a life in which the road to forgiveness is hard—and the path to self-acceptance is even harder. Delanner’s complex characters will resonate with you long after the final page is turned. [...] by Publisher : 'Infinity House'



• Author :_Anna J. Michener
• Pages :_256 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0226524035
• ISBN-13 :_9780226524030

DownloadRead Now



• Description : An emotionally abused sixteen-year-old recounts her painful childhood memories, her time spent in mental institutions, and her eventual recovery with a new family and a new voice [...] by Publisher : 'University of Chicago Press'



• Author :_Jay Ladin, Joy Ladin
• Pages :_137 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781931357449
• ISBN-13 :_1931357447

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The Book of Anna is composed of narrative poems and prose diary entries written in the voice of Anna Ach Asher, a fictional Czech-German Jewish concentration camp survivor writing in mid-1950s Prague. The poems utilize the language and imagery of sacred Jewish texts—the Biblical story of Tamar, snatches of Talmudic disputation, the sensuous imagery of the Song of Songs, mystical texts related to the creation of golems, psalms traditionally recited to celebrate Sabbath—to tell the story of Asher’s concentration camp experiences. [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_Janice Ross
• Pages :_462 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780520932821
• ISBN-13 :_052093282X

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Anna Halprin pioneered what became known as "postmodern dance," creating work that was key to unlocking the door to experimentation in theater, music, Happenings, and performance art. This first comprehensive biography examines Halprin’s fascinating life in the context of American culture—in particular popular culture and the West Coast as a center of artistic experimentation from the Beats through the Hippies. Janice Ross chronicles Halprin’s long, remarkable career, beginning with the dancer’s grandparents—who escaped Eastern European pogroms and came to the United States at the turn of the last century—and ending with the present day, when Halprin continues to defy boundaries between artistic genres as well as between participants and observers. As she follows Halprin’s development from youth into old age, Ross describes in engrossing detail the artist’s roles as dancer, choreographer, performance theorist, community leader, cancer survivor, healer, wife, and mother. Halprin’s friends and acquaintances include a number of artists who charted the course of postmodern performance. Among her students were Trisha Brown, Simone Forti, Yvonne Rainer, Meredith Monk, and Robert Morris. Ross brings to life the vital sense of experimentation during this period. She also illuminates the work of Anna Halprin’s husband, the important landscape architect Lawrence Halprin, in the context of his wife’s environmental dance work. Using Halprin’s dance practices and works as her focus, Ross explores the effects of danced stories on the bodies who perform them. The result is an innovative consideration of how experience becomes performance as well as a masterful account of an extraordinary life. [...] by Publisher : 'Univ of California Press'



• Author :_An Na
• Pages :_192 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481422278
• ISBN-13 :_9781481422277

DownloadRead Now



• Description : From master storyteller and Printz Award–winning author An Na comes a dark, intensely moving story of a girl desperately determined to find a cure for the illness that swept her mother away, and could possibly destroy her own life as well. Sixteen-year-old Grace is in a race against time—and in a race for her life—even if she doesn’t realize it yet… She is smart, responsible, and contending with more than what most teens ever should. Her mother struggled with schizophrenia for years until, one day, she simply disappeared—fleeing in fear that she was going to hurt those she cared about most. Ever since, Grace’s father has worked as a recruiter at one of the leading labs dedicated to studying the disease, trying to lure the world’s top scientists to the faculty to find a cure, hoping against hope it can happen in time to help his wife if she is ever found. But this makes him distant. Consumed. Grace, in turn, does her part, interning at the lab in the gene sequencing department daring to believe that one day they might make a breakthrough…and one day they do. Grace stumbles upon a string of code that could be the key. But something inside of Grace has started to unravel. Could her discovery just be a cruel side effect of the disease that might be taking hold of her? And can she even tell the difference? Unflinchingly brave, An Na has created a mesmerizing story with twists and turns that reveal jaw-dropping insights into the mind of someone struggling with schizophrenia. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'

After Anna

2018-04-10 | Fiction


• Author :_Lisa Scottoline
• Pages :_352 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1250099676
• ISBN-13 :_9781250099679

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Nobody cuts deeper than family... Dr. Noah Alderman, a widower and single father, has remarried a wonderful woman, Maggie Ippolitti, and for the first time in a long time, he and his young son are happy. Despite her longing for the daughter she hasn’t seen since she was a baby, Maggie is happy too, and she’s even more overjoyed when she unexpectedly gets another chance to be a mother to the child she thought she'd lost forever, her only daughter Anna. Maggie and Noah know that having Anna around will change their lives, but they would never have guessed that everything would go wrong, and so quickly. Anna turns out to be a gorgeous seventeen-year-old who balks at living under their rules, though Maggie, ecstatic to have her daughter back, ignores the red flags that hint at the trouble brewing in a once-perfect marriage and home. Events take a heartbreaking turn when Anna is murdered and Noah is accused and tried for the heinous crime. Maggie must face not only the devastation of losing her daughter, but the realization that Anna's murder may have been at the hands of a husband she loves. In the wake of this tragedy, new information drives Maggie to search for the truth, leading her to discover something darker than she could have ever imagined. Riveting and disquieting, After Anna is a groundbreaking domestic thriller, as well as a novel of emotional justice and legal intrigue. And New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline will keep readers on their toes until the final shocking page Praise for Lisa Scottoline: "Scottoline keeps the pace relentless as she drops a looming threat into the heart of an idyllic suburban community, causing readers to hold their breath in anticipation." —Booklist on One Perfect Lie "Readers can be assured that the author nails the high school milieu, from athletic rivalries to sexting...they're in for one thrilling ride." —Kirkus on One Perfect Lie "Entertaining...This fast-paced read culminates in a daring chase that would play well on the big screen." —Publishers Weekly [...] by Publisher : 'St. Martin's Press'

News Update

Genre