Space Opera

Sunday, 30 September 2018, 2:00 | Uncategorized | 160 Views


• Author :Catherynne M. Valente
• Pages :
352 Sheets
• ISBN-13 :
9781472115072
• ISBN-10 :1472115074
• Release :
October 4, 2014
• Publisher :
Corsair

⊕ Plot Summary : “IN area everybody will HEAR YOU SING – A century agone, the Sentience Wars molding the galaxy apart and nearly terminated the complete conception of intelligent space-faring life. within the aftermath, a curious tradition was invented-something to cheer up everybody World Health Organization was left and convey the shattered worlds along within the spirit of peace, unity, and understanding. Once each cycle, the civilizations gather for the Metagalactic automobile race – half scrapper contest, half beauty pageant, half concert amusement, and half continuation of the wars of the past. rather than competitive in orbital combat, the powerful species that survived play in a very competition of song, dance, or no matter are often physically performed in Associate in Nursing assemblage talent show. The stakes ar high for this new game, and everybody is forced to contend.

This year, though, mankind has discovered the big universe. And whereas they expected to get a grand drama of diplomacy, gunships, wormholes, and stoic councils of aliens, they need instead found glitter, lipstick and electrical guitars. human race won’t get to fight for its destiny – they have to sing. A one-hit-wonder band of human musicians, dancers and roadies from London – dB Jones and therefore the Absolute Zeroes – are chosen to represent Earth on the best stage within the galaxy. and therefore the fate of their species lies in their ability to rock.”


⊗ Author Profile

“Catherynne M. Valente, born Bethany Thomas, is a poet, novelist and American literary critic. She is very noticed in her first novel, The Labyrinth (2004), recommended by Locus magazine, which awards literary prizes every year. She is a novelist (Ventriloquist, collection published in 2010), poetess (Apocrypha in 2005, A Guide to Folktales in Fragile Dialects in 2008, among other collections of poetry) and essayist (Introduction to Jane Eyre in 2008). His works are often inspired by myths and folklore. The author herself describes the genre in which she writes mythpunk.

She received the Mythopoeic Award in 2008 for her dyptique The Orphan’s Tales, as well as the World Fantasy Award in 2007 for the first volume of this series. She was awarded three times in 2012 for the Locus Award: Best Young Adult Novel for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (2011), Short Best Novel for Silently and Very Fast (2011) and Best New Long for White Lines on a Green Field (published in 2011 in Subterranean Magazine). Immortal (Deathless, 2011) is his first novel translated into French. She published The Girl Who Went Around Féérie in a boat built with her own hands, the first volume in a series that won the 2016 Imaginal Youth Award.”


Related Books

|


• Author :_no defined
• Pages :_233 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481497499
• ISBN-13 :_9781481497497

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'no defined'



• Author :_no defined
• Pages :_143 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1619470330
• ISBN-13 :_9781619470330

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Spatterlight Press'



• Author :_Kathryn Cramer
• Pages :_944 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_146680825X
• ISBN-13 :_9781466808256

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "Space opera", once a derisive term for cheap pulp adventure, has come to mean something more in modern SF: compelling adventure stories told against a broad canvas, and written to the highest level of skill. Indeed, it can be argued that the "new space opera" is one of the defining streams of modern SF. Now, World Fantasy Award-winning anthologists David G. Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer have compiled a definitive overview of this subgenre, both as it was in the days of the pulp magazines, and as it has become in 2005. Included are major works from genre progenitors like Jack Williamson and Leigh Brackett, stylish midcentury voices like Cordwainer Smith and Samuel R. Delany, popular favorites like David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and Ursula K. Le Guin, and modern-day pioneers such as Iain M. Banks, Steven Baxter, Scott Westerfeld, and Charles Stross. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied. [...] by Publisher : 'Tor Books'



• Author :_Brian Wilson Aldiss
• Pages :_321 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_STANFORD:36105036283856

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Doubleday Books'



• Author :_Daniel Arenson
• Pages :_233 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_192760141X
• ISBN-13 :_9781927601419

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "A fun, fast-paced space adventure... as action-packed as Star Wars or Battlestar Galactica." -- Jeff Bryan, author of Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper "Arenson has brought fun back to space opera. If you love Firefly or Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll dig this." -- Colin F. Barnes, author of Hollow Space The skelkrins. Predators from deep space. Creatures of claws, fangs, and unending malice. They swarm across the galaxy, slaying all in their path. Planets burn in their wake. And now they're heading to Earth. Raphael "Riff" Starfire commands the Alien Hunters, a group of scruffy mercenaries. Galactic pest controllers, they mostly handle small critters--aliens that clog up your engine pipes, gnaw on your hull, or burrow through your silos. Riff and his crew have never faced anything like the skelkrins before. As these cosmic killers invade our solar system, will Riff be the one hunting aliens . . . or will aliens hunt him? ALIEN HUNTERS -- a free space opera, alien invasion adventure for fans of Star Wars, Firefly, and Guardians of the Galaxy. [...] by Publisher : 'Moonclipse'

Space Opera

2010-02-26 | Fiction


• Author :_Frances Dascola-Nichols
• Pages :_57 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781450044776
• ISBN-13 :_1450044778

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A book about the first manned space flight to Mars, the people and the adventure they have. It’s also a story about the loves and lives of the men and women on board the ship and after. Find out what happens to Ness and Obed on their flight to Mars. [...] by Publisher : 'Xlibris Corporation'

Starstruck

1985-03-01 | Drama


• Author :_Elaine Lee
• Pages :_85 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UCSD:31822003099173

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Broadway Play Pub'

THE STARTER

2010-09-10 | Fiction


• Author :_Scott Sigler
• Pages :_512 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0983196303
• ISBN-13 :_9780983196303

DownloadRead Now



• Description : THE STARTER is the sequel to THE ROOKIE, a hard-hitting, bone-crunching YA sports/scifi novel described as "Any Given Sunday" meets "The Godfather" meets "Star Wars." It's high-stakes, win-or-die football action in the far future, as aliens and humans fill positions based on physiology and leave their blood, sweat and tears on gridirons across the galaxy. Last season, 19-year-old rookie quarterback Quentin Barnes overcame his racism and unified his team. He led the Ionath Krakens to a lower-tier championship, a championship that earns them promotion into the meat grinder known as "Tier One." Now, he and the Krakens have to compete against the greatest football teams ever assembled and do far more than just survive each game. As he rebuilds the team in his own image, Quentin's quest for a Tier One championship begins in THE STARTER. [...] by Publisher : 'Empty Set Entertainment'



• Author :_Anne McCaffrey
• Pages :_400 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780886777142
• ISBN-13 :_0886777143

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Twenty original science fiction tales based on the theme of music--by such authors as Marion Zimmer Bradley, Charles de Lint, and Gene Wolfe--include the story of a singer whose ear for music helps her fight crime. Original. [...] by Publisher : 'D A W Books, Incorporated'



• Author :_Samuel Eddy
• Pages :_196 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1365091163
• ISBN-13 :_9781365091162

DownloadRead Now



• Description : 100 years of peace, mankind ascends into the stars, space colonies, and machines of great complexity spread ever deeper into space. The Earth is the centerpiece in an alliance of powers from across the solar system consolidated under The Planetary Cabinet. The Lunar Protectorate, The Federated Colonies of Mars, TianShanTech, and the Kuipterran Autocracy form up the four central powers within the Cabinet. The powers struggle over the Cabinet every ten years in a broadcasted mech tournament known as "The Unified War." After an unexpected result in the final round, events marked by tragedy bring conflict between the inner planets and colonies. In the turmoil, the remaining mech pilots struggle against the disintegration of the century of peace, fighting to protect the innocent from an uncertain future. [...] by Publisher : 'Lulu.com'



• Author :_Cather Dunus
• Pages :_233 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Against the backdrop of an apocalyptic, ideological war spanning the universe, a ship, a hunter and a thief take on a quest to end the war forever: the search for the Cascade emitter. The odds are high, but then the ship is Orpal, the most intelligent ship ever to sail the solar seas. The hunter is the greatest in the Suh’traeti galaxy. His name is Kyle, and he is not alone. The thief is Cetee, beautiful and more deadly than anyone knows. To win, they must learn to work together. To survive, they must be lucky, too, because their enemies are legion. And the prize? To lead the universe to Evolution. About the Author: Craig Saunders lives in Norfolk, England, with his wife and three children, who he pretends to listen to while making up stories in his head. He has published more than two dozen short stories, and is the author of many novels including Rain (Twisted Library Press), Spiggot (Grand Mal Press), and forthcoming, The Love of the Dead (Evil Jester Press) and A Stranger's Grave (Grand Mal Press). [...] by Publisher : 'Cather Dunus Discounts for a short time'

Space Opera

2011-11-14 | Fiction


• Author :_Jack Vance
• Pages :_88 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0575109580
• ISBN-13 :_9780575109582

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A space opera is what science fiction readers call an adventure in outer space and on alien planets. But a space opera could also be an opera, a musical work, that originated in outer space... Jack Vance's unique novel SPACE OPERA fits both definitions marvelously! Because it starts with the mysterious opera company from the equally mysterious planet Rlaru that arrives on Earth to astonish and infuriate music-lovers - and then disappears without trace! And when Roger Wool's wealthy aunt determined to reciprocate by bringing an Earthly operatic team into space and to the unknown world Rlaru, there unwinds a complex and surprising space opera of the first kind ...filled with enigmatic aliens, weird worlds, and all the special color and cunning that is the hallmark of the best Jack Vance. [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'