Space Opera

Sunday, 30 September 2018, 2:00 | Fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Sciences | 124 Views


• Author :Catherynne M. Valente
• Pages :
352 Sheets
• ISBN-13 :
9781472115072
• ISBN-10 :1472115074
• Release :
October 4, 2014
• Publisher :
Corsair

⊕ Plot Summary : “IN area everybody will HEAR YOU SING – A century agone, the Sentience Wars molding the galaxy apart and nearly terminated the complete conception of intelligent space-faring life. within the aftermath, a curious tradition was invented-something to cheer up everybody World Health Organization was left and convey the shattered worlds along within the spirit of peace, unity, and understanding. Once each cycle, the civilizations gather for the Metagalactic automobile race – half scrapper contest, half beauty pageant, half concert amusement, and half continuation of the wars of the past. rather than competitive in orbital combat, the powerful species that survived play in a very competition of song, dance, or no matter are often physically performed in Associate in Nursing assemblage talent show. The stakes ar high for this new game, and everybody is forced to contend.

This year, though, mankind has discovered the big universe. And whereas they expected to get a grand drama of diplomacy, gunships, wormholes, and stoic councils of aliens, they need instead found glitter, lipstick and electrical guitars. human race won’t get to fight for its destiny – they have to sing. A one-hit-wonder band of human musicians, dancers and roadies from London – dB Jones and therefore the Absolute Zeroes – are chosen to represent Earth on the best stage within the galaxy. and therefore the fate of their species lies in their ability to rock.”


⊗ Author Profile

“Catherynne M. Valente, born Bethany Thomas, is a poet, novelist and American literary critic. She is very noticed in her first novel, The Labyrinth (2004), recommended by Locus magazine, which awards literary prizes every year. She is a novelist (Ventriloquist, collection published in 2010), poetess (Apocrypha in 2005, A Guide to Folktales in Fragile Dialects in 2008, among other collections of poetry) and essayist (Introduction to Jane Eyre in 2008). His works are often inspired by myths and folklore. The author herself describes the genre in which she writes mythpunk.

She received the Mythopoeic Award in 2008 for her dyptique The Orphan’s Tales, as well as the World Fantasy Award in 2007 for the first volume of this series. She was awarded three times in 2012 for the Locus Award: Best Young Adult Novel for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (2011), Short Best Novel for Silently and Very Fast (2011) and Best New Long for White Lines on a Green Field (published in 2011 in Subterranean Magazine). Immortal (Deathless, 2011) is his first novel translated into French. She published The Girl Who Went Around Féérie in a boat built with her own hands, the first volume in a series that won the 2016 Imaginal Youth Award.”

🔗 TAG: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Related Books

Space Opera

2018-04-10 | Fiction


• Author :_Catherynne M. Valente
• Pages :_304 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1481497510
• ISBN-13 :_9781481497510

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy meets the joy and glamour of Eurovision in bestselling author Catherynne M. Valente's science fiction spectacle, where sentient races compete for glory in a galactic musical contest…and the stakes are as high as the fate of planet Earth. A century ago, the Sentience Wars tore the galaxy apart and nearly ended the entire concept of intelligent space-faring life. In the aftermath, a curious tradition was invented—something to cheer up everyone who was left and bring the shattered worlds together in the spirit of peace, unity, and understanding. Once every cycle, the great galactic civilizations gather for the Metagalactic Grand Prix—part gladiatorial contest, part beauty pageant, part concert extravaganza, and part continuation of the wars of the past. Species far and wide compete in feats of song, dance and/or whatever facsimile of these can be performed by various creatures who may or may not possess, in the traditional sense, feet, mouths, larynxes, or faces. And if a new species should wish to be counted among the high and the mighty, if a new planet has produced some savage group of animals, machines, or algae that claim to be, against all odds, sentient? Well, then they will have to compete. And if they fail? Sudden extermination for their entire species. This year, though, humankind has discovered the enormous universe. And while they expected to discover a grand drama of diplomacy, gunships, wormholes, and stoic councils of aliens, they have instead found glitter, lipstick, and electric guitars. Mankind will not get to fight for its destiny—they must sing. Decibel Jones and the Absolute Zeroes have been chosen to represent their planet on the greatest stage in the galaxy. And the fate of Earth lies in their ability to rock. [...] by Publisher : 'Simon and Schuster'

Space Opera

2011-11-14 | Fiction


• Author :_Jack Vance
• Pages :_88 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0575109580
• ISBN-13 :_9780575109582

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A space opera is what science fiction readers call an adventure in outer space and on alien planets. But a space opera could also be an opera, a musical work, that originated in outer space... Jack Vance's unique novel SPACE OPERA fits both definitions marvelously! Because it starts with the mysterious opera company from the equally mysterious planet Rlaru that arrives on Earth to astonish and infuriate music-lovers - and then disappears without trace! And when Roger Wool's wealthy aunt determined to reciprocate by bringing an Earthly operatic team into space and to the unknown world Rlaru, there unwinds a complex and surprising space opera of the first kind ...filled with enigmatic aliens, weird worlds, and all the special color and cunning that is the hallmark of the best Jack Vance. [...] by Publisher : 'Hachette UK'



• Author :_Gardner Dozois, Jonathan Strahan
• Pages :_528 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062565206
• ISBN-13 :_9780062565204

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The brightest names in science fiction pen all-new tales of space and wonder: Kage Baker Stephen Baxter Gregory Benford Tony Daniel Greg Egan Peter F. Hamilton Gwyneth Jones James Patrick Kelly Nancy Kress Ken Macleod Paul J. McAuley Ian McDonald Robert Reed Alastair Reynolds Mary Rosenblum Robert Silverberg Dan Simmons Walter Jon Williams [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell
• Pages :_944 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_146680825X
• ISBN-13 :_9781466808256

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "Space opera", once a derisive term for cheap pulp adventure, has come to mean something more in modern SF: compelling adventure stories told against a broad canvas, and written to the highest level of skill. Indeed, it can be argued that the "new space opera" is one of the defining streams of modern SF. Now, World Fantasy Award-winning anthologists David G. Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer have compiled a definitive overview of this subgenre, both as it was in the days of the pulp magazines, and as it has become in 2005. Included are major works from genre progenitors like Jack Williamson and Leigh Brackett, stylish midcentury voices like Cordwainer Smith and Samuel R. Delany, popular favorites like David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and Ursula K. Le Guin, and modern-day pioneers such as Iain M. Banks, Steven Baxter, Scott Westerfeld, and Charles Stross. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied. [...] by Publisher : 'Tor Books'



• Author :_Brian Wilson Aldiss
• Pages :_324 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780297768111
• ISBN-13 :_0297768115

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : ''



• Author :_Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
• Pages :_400 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780886777142
• ISBN-13 :_0886777143

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Twenty original science fiction tales based on the theme of music--by such authors as Marion Zimmer Bradley, Charles de Lint, and Gene Wolfe--include the story of a singer whose ear for music helps her fight crime. Original. [...] by Publisher : 'D A W Books, Incorporated'



• Author :_Daniel Arenson
• Pages :_ sheets
• ISBN-10 :_192760141X
• ISBN-13 :_9781927601419

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "A fun, fast-paced space adventure... as action-packed as Star Wars or Battlestar Galactica." -- Jeff Bryan, author of Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper "Arenson has brought fun back to space opera. If you love Firefly or Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll dig this." -- Colin F. Barnes, author of Hollow Space The skelkrins. Predators from deep space. Creatures of claws, fangs, and unending malice. They swarm across the galaxy, slaying all in their path. Planets burn in their wake. And now they're heading to Earth. Raphael "Riff" Starfire commands the Alien Hunters, a group of scruffy mercenaries. Galactic pest controllers, they mostly handle small critters--aliens that clog up your engine pipes, gnaw on your hull, or burrow through your silos. Riff and his crew have never faced anything like the skelkrins before. As these cosmic killers invade our solar system, will Riff be the one hunting aliens . . . or will aliens hunt him? ALIEN HUNTERS -- a free space opera, alien invasion adventure for fans of Star Wars, Firefly, and Guardians of the Galaxy. [...] by Publisher : 'Moonclipse'

Starstruck

1985-03-01 | Drama


• Author :_Elaine Lee, Susan Norfleet Lee, Dale Place, Michael William Kaluta
• Pages :_85 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_UCSD:31822003099173

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Broadway Play Pub'



• Author :_Leonard Teo, Leigh Van der Byl
• Pages :_111 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1921002107
• ISBN-13 :_9781921002106

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Grand Space Opera is the second title in the CG Challenge series. The book features the artwork and techniques of winning artists and finalists in the online CG Challenges organized by CGSociety.org. The book also features an epic gallery of over 50 notable entries. [...] by Publisher : 'Ballistic Media Pty Ltd'

News Update

Genre