Space Opera

Sunday, 30 September 2018, 2:00 | Uncategorized | 181 Views


• Author :Catherynne M. Valente
• Pages :
352 Sheets
• ISBN-13 :
9781472115072
• ISBN-10 :1472115074
• Release :
October 4, 2014
• Publisher :
Corsair

⊕ Plot Summary : “IN area everybody will HEAR YOU SING – A century agone, the Sentience Wars molding the galaxy apart and nearly terminated the complete conception of intelligent space-faring life. within the aftermath, a curious tradition was invented-something to cheer up everybody World Health Organization was left and convey the shattered worlds along within the spirit of peace, unity, and understanding. Once each cycle, the civilizations gather for the Metagalactic automobile race – half scrapper contest, half beauty pageant, half concert amusement, and half continuation of the wars of the past. rather than competitive in orbital combat, the powerful species that survived play in a very competition of song, dance, or no matter are often physically performed in Associate in Nursing assemblage talent show. The stakes ar high for this new game, and everybody is forced to contend.

This year, though, mankind has discovered the big universe. And whereas they expected to get a grand drama of diplomacy, gunships, wormholes, and stoic councils of aliens, they need instead found glitter, lipstick and electrical guitars. human race won’t get to fight for its destiny – they have to sing. A one-hit-wonder band of human musicians, dancers and roadies from London – dB Jones and therefore the Absolute Zeroes – are chosen to represent Earth on the best stage within the galaxy. and therefore the fate of their species lies in their ability to rock.”


⊗ Author Profile

“Catherynne M. Valente, born Bethany Thomas, is a poet, novelist and American literary critic. She is very noticed in her first novel, The Labyrinth (2004), recommended by Locus magazine, which awards literary prizes every year. She is a novelist (Ventriloquist, collection published in 2010), poetess (Apocrypha in 2005, A Guide to Folktales in Fragile Dialects in 2008, among other collections of poetry) and essayist (Introduction to Jane Eyre in 2008). His works are often inspired by myths and folklore. The author herself describes the genre in which she writes mythpunk.

She received the Mythopoeic Award in 2008 for her dyptique The Orphan’s Tales, as well as the World Fantasy Award in 2007 for the first volume of this series. She was awarded three times in 2012 for the Locus Award: Best Young Adult Novel for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (2011), Short Best Novel for Silently and Very Fast (2011) and Best New Long for White Lines on a Green Field (published in 2011 in Subterranean Magazine). Immortal (Deathless, 2011) is his first novel translated into French. She published The Girl Who Went Around Féérie in a boat built with her own hands, the first volume in a series that won the 2016 Imaginal Youth Award.”


Related Books

Space Opera

2019-07-04 |


• Author :_Catherynne M. Valente
• Pages :_304 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781472115089
• ISBN-13 :_1472115082

DownloadRead Now



• Description : IN SPACE EVERYONE CAN HEAR YOU SING A century ago, intelligent space-faring life was nearly destroyed during the Sentience Wars. To bring the shattered worlds together in the spirit of peace, unity and understanding, the Metagalactic Grand Prix was created. Part concert, part contest, all extravaganza, species far and wide gather to compete in feats of song, dance and/or whatever facsimile of these can be performed by various creatures who may or may not possess, in the traditional sense, feet, mouths, larynxes or faces. This year, humankind has discovered the enormous universe. They expected to discover a grand drama of diplomacy, gunships, wormholes and stoic councils. Instead found glitter, lipstick and electric guitars. Mankind will not get to fight for its destiny - instead, they must sing, and Decibel Jones and the Absolute Zeroes have been chosen to represent humanity on the greatest stage in the galaxy. The fate of Earth lies in their ability to ROCK. [...] by Publisher : 'Corsair'



• Author :_no defined
• Pages :_143 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1619470330
• ISBN-13 :_9781619470330

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Spatterlight Press'



• Author :_Kathryn Cramer
• Pages :_944 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_146680825X
• ISBN-13 :_9781466808256

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "Space opera", once a derisive term for cheap pulp adventure, has come to mean something more in modern SF: compelling adventure stories told against a broad canvas, and written to the highest level of skill. Indeed, it can be argued that the "new space opera" is one of the defining streams of modern SF. Now, World Fantasy Award-winning anthologists David G. Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer have compiled a definitive overview of this subgenre, both as it was in the days of the pulp magazines, and as it has become in 2005. Included are major works from genre progenitors like Jack Williamson and Leigh Brackett, stylish midcentury voices like Cordwainer Smith and Samuel R. Delany, popular favorites like David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and Ursula K. Le Guin, and modern-day pioneers such as Iain M. Banks, Steven Baxter, Scott Westerfeld, and Charles Stross. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied. [...] by Publisher : 'Tor Books'



• Author :_Anne McCaffrey
• Pages :_400 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9780886777142
• ISBN-13 :_0886777143

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Twenty original science fiction tales based on the theme of music--by such authors as Marion Zimmer Bradley, Charles de Lint, and Gene Wolfe--include the story of a singer whose ear for music helps her fight crime. Original. [...] by Publisher : 'D A W Books, Incorporated'



• Author :_Brian Wilson Aldiss
• Pages :_321 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_
• ISBN-13 :_STANFORD:36105036283856

DownloadRead Now



• Description : [...] by Publisher : 'Doubleday Books'



• Author :_Rich Horton
• Pages :_574 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781607014072
• ISBN-13 :_1607014076

DownloadRead Now



• Description : More than five-hundred pages, over one-quarter of a million words... Space Opera spans a vast range of epic interstellar adventure stories told against a limitless cosmos filled with exotic aliens, heroic characters, and incredible settings. A truly stellar compilation of tales from one of the defining streams of science fiction, old and new, written by a supernova of genre talent. [...] by Publisher : 'Prime Books'



• Author :_Gardner Dozois
• Pages :_528 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062565206
• ISBN-13 :_9780062565204

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The brightest names in science fiction pen all-new tales of space and wonder: Kage Baker Stephen Baxter Gregory Benford Tony Daniel Greg Egan Peter F. Hamilton Gwyneth Jones James Patrick Kelly Nancy Kress Ken Macleod Paul J. McAuley Ian McDonald Robert Reed Alastair Reynolds Mary Rosenblum Robert Silverberg Dan Simmons Walter Jon Williams [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Daniel Arenson
• Pages :_233 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_192760141X
• ISBN-13 :_9781927601419

DownloadRead Now



• Description : "A fun, fast-paced space adventure... as action-packed as Star Wars or Battlestar Galactica." -- Jeff Bryan, author of Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper "Arenson has brought fun back to space opera. If you love Firefly or Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll dig this." -- Colin F. Barnes, author of Hollow Space The skelkrins. Predators from deep space. Creatures of claws, fangs, and unending malice. They swarm across the galaxy, slaying all in their path. Planets burn in their wake. And now they're heading to Earth. Raphael "Riff" Starfire commands the Alien Hunters, a group of scruffy mercenaries. Galactic pest controllers, they mostly handle small critters--aliens that clog up your engine pipes, gnaw on your hull, or burrow through your silos. Riff and his crew have never faced anything like the skelkrins before. As these cosmic killers invade our solar system, will Riff be the one hunting aliens . . . or will aliens hunt him? ALIEN HUNTERS -- a free space opera, alien invasion adventure for fans of Star Wars, Firefly, and Guardians of the Galaxy. [...] by Publisher : 'Moonclipse'



• Author :_Jay Allan
• Pages :_384 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_0062388916
• ISBN-13 :_9780062388919

DownloadRead Now



• Description : The first installment in the Far Star series, a swashbuckling space saga that introduces the daring pirate Blackhawk and the loyal crew of the Wolf’s Claw, from the author of the bestselling Crimson Worlds saga. Smuggler and mercenary Arkarin Blackhawk and the crew of the ship Wolf’s Claw are freelance adventurers who live on the fringe of human society in the Far Stars. A veteran fighter as deadly with a blade as he is with a gun, Blackhawk is a man haunted by a dark past. Even his cynicism cannot banish the guilt and pain that threaten his sanity. Sent to rescue the kidnapped daughter of his longtime friend Marshal Augustin Lucerne, Blackhawk and his crew find themselves drawn into one deadly fight after another. When the Wolf’s Claw is damaged, they are forced to land on a remote planet subsumed by civil war. Pulled unwittingly into the conflict, they uncover disturbing information about secret imperial involvement that could upset the plans of Lucerne. For the Marshal is determined to forge a Far Stars Confederation powerful enough to eliminate all imperial influence and threats in the sector. He needs a skilled warrior like Blackhawk on his side, but the mercenary, plagued by dark memories from the past, refuses to join the cause. All too soon, though, he and his crew will have to take a stand. [...] by Publisher : 'HarperCollins'



• Author :_Samuel Eddy
• Pages :_196 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1365091163
• ISBN-13 :_9781365091162

DownloadRead Now



• Description : 100 years of peace, mankind ascends into the stars, space colonies, and machines of great complexity spread ever deeper into space. The Earth is the centerpiece in an alliance of powers from across the solar system consolidated under The Planetary Cabinet. The Lunar Protectorate, The Federated Colonies of Mars, TianShanTech, and the Kuipterran Autocracy form up the four central powers within the Cabinet. The powers struggle over the Cabinet every ten years in a broadcasted mech tournament known as "The Unified War." After an unexpected result in the final round, events marked by tragedy bring conflict between the inner planets and colonies. In the turmoil, the remaining mech pilots struggle against the disintegration of the century of peace, fighting to protect the innocent from an uncertain future. [...] by Publisher : 'Lulu.com'



• Author :_Leonard Teo
• Pages :_111 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_1921002107
• ISBN-13 :_9781921002106

DownloadRead Now



• Description : Grand Space Opera is the second title in the CG Challenge series. The book features the artwork and techniques of winning artists and finalists in the online CG Challenges organized by CGSociety.org. The book also features an epic gallery of over 50 notable entries. [...] by Publisher : 'Ballistic Media Pty Ltd'

Space Opera

2010-02-26 | Fiction


• Author :_Frances Dascola-Nichols
• Pages :_57 sheets
• ISBN-10 :_9781450044776
• ISBN-13 :_1450044778

DownloadRead Now



• Description : A book about the first manned space flight to Mars, the people and the adventure they have. It’s also a story about the loves and lives of the men and women on board the ship and after. Find out what happens to Ness and Obed on their flight to Mars. [...] by Publisher : 'Xlibris Corporation'